top of page
  • Writer's pictureTrade Chicks

Darcie

Bricklayer



Darcie Richards is a 26yr old bricklayer from Norfolk. Her journey started after travelling in Australia.

She decided to go on site with her dad as she was between jobs and didn’t really know what she wanted to do. Darcie started out as a labourer, moving bricks, mixing cement and watching her brothers and dad work.


“It looked manageable and they were having fun, so I thought to myself ‘I could do that’. From there, my dad took me under his wing and taught me everything I needed to know about bricklaying.

Darcie has now been bricklaying for two years explaining she loves it but it hasn’t been easy. 'It’s hard graft, long days, mostly cold, but I get to laugh, chat, and build some incredible things. You get a lot of job satisfaction with bricklaying, every day there is something new, every day seeing your work and skills progress. As my dad always says no 2 bricks are the same so every day is different.'


The great thing is bricklaying is its not just a job, its a skill that you can take with you anywhere in the world.


You can use this skill for the rest of your life and I really do enjoy my job and I hope to encourage more women to get into the trade by watching me, and seeing that if I can do it anybody can do it.

Follow Darcie

TikTok : RattleKings





bottom of page